Skip To Main Content

Middle School Brings Down the House of Joy

Middle School Brings Down the House of Joy
Melissa Kong
Middle School Brings Down the House of Joy
Middle School Brings Down the House of Joy

Middle school students were pumped up on the first day of school, partially because it was the first day, but more importantly, because they were anxious to find out their destiny at the first ever Sorting Ceremony! To introduce the new house system in middle school, 5th-8th graders were randomly assigned to five different houses, with each house containing a mix of all four grades. Designed to create an increasingly positive and dynamic school climate that celebrates excellence, fosters school spirit, builds and strengthens relationships, and promotes a culture of belonging for all - the five houses each have their own name, color, symbol and characteristics, with house members shaping distinct personalities and values over time.

Rhizoo (to strengthen with roots) – The House of Strength embodies a strong foundation and is deeply rooted in Jesus. They are prepared to defend the faith in the face of strong opposition.

Veritas (truth) – The Veritas House is hallmarked by integrity as they seek to discern Biblical truth in a fallen world. Their pursuit of truth is for the purpose of enlightening those around them. 

Mathetes (intentional discipling) – The Mathetes House has a thirst for learning and discipleship. They intentionally study the word to grow in their faith so they can be Ambassadors of the Gospel.

Inspiro (to breathe into) – The Inspiro House’s purpose is to encourage, excite and create. They desire to use the life and gifts God has breathed into them to glorify God and be a light in the world.

Sharath (servant/devotion) – The House of Sharath’s purpose is to serve and uplift others in the service of the King. Their service is spurred by their love for their Master and their devotion to Him, and they are devoted to fulfilling His purpose.

Teachers pose for a picture dressed in house spirit wear

Heart pounding theatrical music blared from the speakers in the Ruth Auditorium as middle schoolers waited their turn to find out which house they would be in. When they saw their name on screen, they walked on stage, reached into a bowl, grabbed an envelope and then opened it to find a colored wristband, indicating which house they would be in for the remainder of their middle school years. Faculty members from each house greeted their new members with hugs, high-fives and fist bumps, determined that their house would be the best!

Girl reaches into bowl to find out which house she is in


Boy reaches into bowl to find out house name

Over the course of the school year, the five houses will gather at Mash Up and compete in different challenges for points. The points will be tallied throughout the year to determine a winner at the end of the school year!

Though there are five houses, they make up 1 middle school – The House of Joy. We know the middle school years can be tough (for everyone involved – students, parents and teachers alike), as students find their way and grow into who they are. We are so excited for all the relationships, transformation and celebration that will take place through the new house system and are confident this will make for a more unified and robust middle school experience.

More News